Whodunnits and Crime Novels set in Cornwall

Agatha Christie’s Poirot, Inspector Linley and and Inspector Adam Dalgleish all feature in whodunnits and crime novels set in Cornwall, along with The Light House by PD James and The Cornish Mysteries.

The Cove: A Summer Suspense Mystery (The Summer Suspense Mysteries Book 1), by L. J. Ross

THE PERFECT ESCAPE…

Gabrielle Adams has it all – brains, beauty, a handsome fiancé, and a dream job in publishing. Until, one day, everything changes.

‘The Tube Killer’ takes his victims when they least expect it: standing on the edge of a busy London Underground platform, as they wait for a train to arrive through the murky underground tunnels of London.

Gabrielle soon learns that being a survivor is harder than being a victim, and she struggles to return to her old life. Desperate to break free from the endless nightmares, she snatches up an opportunity to run a tiny bookshop in a picturesque cove in rural Cornwall.

She thinks she’s found the perfect escape, but has she swapped one nightmare for another?

Suspense and mystery are peppered with romance and humour in this fast-paced thriller, set amidst the spectacular Cornish landscape.

“LJ Ross keeps company with the best mystery writers” —The Times

“A literary phenomenon” —Evening Chronicle

Careless in Red: An Inspector Lynley Novel, by Elizabeth George

It is barely three months since the murder of his wife and Thomas Lynley takes to the South-West Coast Path in Cornwall, determined to walk its length in an attempt to distract himself from his loss.

On the forty-third day of this walk, he sees a cliff climber fall to his death, apparently witnessed by a surfer in a nearby cove. Shortly afterwards, Lynley encounters a young woman from Bristol whose personal history is a blank before her thirteenth year.

These events propel him into a case that brings Barbara Havers from London and thrusts both detectives into a world where revenge is only one of the motives they must sift through to identify a killer.

The Lighthouse (Inspector Adam Dalgliesh), by P.D.James

Combe Island off the Cornish coast has a bloodstained history of piracy and cruelty but now, privately owned, it offers respite to over-stressed men and women in positions of high authority who require privacy and guaranteed security. But the peace of Combe is violated when one of the distinguished visitors is bizarrely murdered.

Adam Dalgliesh is called in to solve the mystery quickly and discreetly, but at a difficult time for him and his depleted team. Dalgliesh is uncertain about his future with Emma Lavenham, the woman he loves, Detective Inspector Kate Miskin has her own emotional problems and the ambitious Anglo-Indian Sergeant Francis Benton-Smith is worried about working under Kate. Hardly have the team begun to unravel the complicated motives of the suspects that there is a second brutal killing and the whole investigation is jeopardised when Dalgliesh is faced with a danger more insidious and as potentially fatal as murder.

Peril at End House (Poirot), by Agatha Christie

Agatha Christie’s ingenious murder mystery, reissued with a striking new cover designed to appeal to the latest generation of Agatha Christie fans and book lovers.

Nick Buckley was an unusual name for a pretty young woman. But then she had led an unusual life. First, on a treacherous Cornish hillside, the brakes on her car failed. Then, on a coastal path, a falling boulder missed her by inches. Later, an oil painting fell and almost crushed her in bed.

Upon discovering a bullet-hole in Nick’s sun hat, Hercule Poirot decides the girl needs his protection. At the same time, he begins to unravel the mystery of a murder that hasn’t been committed. Yet.

Rogue Flamingo: The Mevagissey murders – an intriguing, disturbing crime thriller. (DI Treloar Cornish Crime Thrillers Book 1), by L A Kent

Rogue Flamingo: The Mevagissey murders – an intriguing, disturbing crime thriller. (DI Treloar Cornish C

Introducing maverick Cornish DI Treloar.

A body is found staked out on a beach in a sleepy Cornish fishing village, its population swollen by the influx of summer visitors.

With a rising body count, escalating sexual violence, multiple suspects and no connection between the victims, Treloar is under pressure.

As the police surgeon says, “psychopaths need holidays too.”

Somewhere in the village is a girl with a disturbed violent past in France, but who is she?

Then a brutal attack on one of the team changes everything and the team close in but will they be in time?

“A CAN’T PUT DOWN EXPERIENCE” SHOCKING TO THE LAST PAGE.

L. A. Kent won Best Adult Fiction for the second DI Treloar Cornish crime thriller BROKEN DOVE at the 2017 Holyer An Gof Literary Awards.

Killed in Cornwall (Cornwall Mysteries), by Jane Bolitho

Set in the picturesque setting of the Cornish countryside, these five books follow artistic amateur sleuth Rose Trevelyan as she attempts to uncover the truth behind a number of startling mysteries.

Rose was hoping to make friends with one of her female clients – but then she turns up dead; she begins to connect the dots in a case of a man who fell off a cliff in suspicious circumstances and the non-show of one of her friends at the opening of a new exhibition; and has so many suspects following a series of burglaries and brutal attacks on young women.

You’ll be racing through the pages as you try to follow the clues and spot the murderers.

These are perfect for fans of Rebecca Tope and M.C. Beaton.

Snapped in Cornwall

Book 1 of the series.

Rose Trevelyan had only met Gabrielle Milton once, but felt they might become good friends.

She was delighted, therefore, to receive an invitation to the Milton’s party where the wine flowed freely and a good time was being had by all – that is, until Gabrielle’s crumpled, lifeless body was found underneath a balcony.

DCI Claire Cornish Mysteries, by FG Laycy

Carrick Roads

Claire Cornish is Detective Chief Inspector for Devon and Cornwall Police. It’s the start of 2018 and St Winebald’s Day when the mutilated body of Sonny, a Shetland gelding is discovered on Bodmin Moor.

There is speculation that Devil Worshippers are responsible. Peace is further shattered when members of the Pascoe family start dying. DCI Cornish and her team must catch the murderers and stop further bloodshed. DCI Claire Cornish’s worst nightmare has become a reality. Unfortunately for Cornish, the devil looks just like everybody else. Cornish must unmask this evil which is walking among them before it is too late.

This fast-paced crime mystery whodunnit is set in spectacular scenery in Cornwall.

Highcliff

Highcliff was rocked by the sudden death of Christopher Copeland in 2008. At first, all the evidence pointed to his girlfriend, Jaynie Jackson, who was sentenced to fifteen years in prison for murder.

Ten years later: An alibi is produced from an unexpected source. And, another body is discovered; in exactly the same spot. DCI Claire Cornish needs all her ingenuity to unscramble the past and the present to uncover the real Highcliff killer. Death is never that simple.As the romance develops between DCI Claire Cornish and Jamie Nance, they decide to look for their daughter, Bonnie. This fast-paced crime mystery whodunnit is sprinkled with romance.

Set in spectacular scenery in Cornwall. Readers of L J Ross, David Blake, Joy Ellis and Anne Cleeves will enjoy this second crime novel by F G Laycy.


Whodunnits and Crime Novels set in Cornwall

Back to Home Page